American Health Care Hard at Work by Dr. Starner Jones, MD


This should be blasted across all the airwaves, and nationwide TV.  Forward this to everyone you know and to your Congressional representatives.

Starner Jones, MD

I am a seventh generation Mississippian and wanted to come back here after going somewhere else for college and medical school. My extracurricular interests are golf, hunting, fishing and college football.

This should be on the front page of every newspaper in  America —in large bold letters.

This was a “letter to the editor” on August 29th, in a Jackson, MS newspaper.

Dear Sirs:

“During my last night’s shift in the ER, I had the pleasure of evaluating a patient with a shiny new gold tooth, multiple elaborate tattoos, a very expensive brand of tennis shoes and a new cellular telephone equipped with her favorite R&B tune for a ringtone.

Glancing over the chart, one could not help noticing her payer status: Medicaid.

She smokes more than one costly pack of cigarettes every day and, somehow, still has money to buy beer.

And our Congress expects me to pay for this woman’s health care?

Our nation’s health care crisis is not a shortage of quality hospitals, doctors or nurses.

It is a crisis of culture — a culture in which it is perfectly acceptable to spend money on vices while refusing to take care of one’s self or, heaven forbid, purchase health insurance.

A culture that thinks, “I can do whatever I want to because someone else will always take care of me”.

Life is really not that hard. Most of us reap what we sow. Don’t you agree?

DR. STARNER JONES, MD

Jackson, MS

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “American Health Care Hard at Work by Dr. Starner Jones, MD”

  1. david levack Says:

    You know what I want?

    I want to see a Dr. who very well may determine his quality of care given based on his opinions of your worth and social status, get outed from the medical field.

  2. Mechelle Clark Says:

    I tried to email Dr Jones he closed his account. So Ill post it everywhere hoping he will see it.

    Dr Jones,

    I really do not understand your one sided opinion on healthcare. Children as well as Adults suffer and die everyday because of our current healthcare system. You must see this yet while writing this letter this did not occur to you?

    I personally have a prexisting condition and have been refused healthcare for over 12 years. As a result I do not get proper healthcare for my illness. I work hard make a decent wage yet cannot afford the ever rising health care costs and have been in debt because of them. A colonoscopy cost me $2800.00 and the blood work $2600.00 that was more than 10% of my yearly wage!!! for one simple test!!! TEN PERCENT!!

    Why did you become a Dr if your purpose was to make money and not save as many lives as possible? Lots of jobs pay good money, your intelligent you should have chosen one of them. The truth is we do not need more Dr’s who only care about what their potential earnings are as apposed to those who care about humans and saving their lives with preventative care rather than allowing them to get sicker and cost this country even more… You seem very judgmental to me.

    I’m sure you would never reply to me. But I work very hard and still do not have healthcare!! I do not have the latest everything and still cannot afford healthcare. These are big problem none of which you mention. I live a modest life and I’m a good person who happens to have a condition that insurance companies have decided I’m not worthy of insuring. Their will always be people who take advantage of any system. That’s something you need to grow up and deal with. Accept it!! No matter what the rules are some people will find a way to cheat!!

    Your broad statement and your letter will now always be a part of who you are. You should take more time to think things through that effect so many people.

    Finally, This woman was on Medicaid. So the healthcare bill does not effect her one way or another. Other than it looks as if she will be responsible for a portion of her healthcare coverage now which was previously NOT the case!! So your letter helped solve nothing. If you think you have all the answers then come up with some helpful reasonable solutions. And present *them* to our president. In my opinion your letter was not well thought out and really said nothing to help change this country’s situation. So you wasted your time and ours..

    Respectfully,

    Mechelle Clark
    Uninsured American who lives in debt because of it.

  3. Sam Says:

    It’s wrong to assume that just because you are on medicaid you are jobless or lazy. Maybe the rich folk should step out side of their little world for just a moment and realize that some people cannot help the situation they are in, especially with the economy being as bad as it is. I personally was paying a rediculous amount monthly for private insurance because my job did not offer insurance, and than I got pregnant and because my husband and I were not paying for “pregnancy insurance” my pregnancy was not covered. So thanks to medicaid, I was able to afford to take prenatal vitamins and get the monthly check up that was needed. So before you go labeling everyone on medicaid, take a step back and start looking at the big picture.

    • lockdoc1 Says:

      Read the article carefully and you’ll see I didn’t write it. I agree with you that there are circumstances beyond some people’s control that require them to be on Medicaid or similar insurances. However there are others that continually abuse the system because they are too lazy to get off their butts and get a job! They think they are entitled to a free ride.

  4. Paul Honer Says:

    I’ve been an MRI technologist for 15 years now, and yes, Starner Jones, MD, has got it 100% right. Our government would save a ton of money by charging a small premium to the lazy people who refuse to work, let’s just say even an amount that comes to what cigarettes cost, would help. We are all tired of paying for what others could pay for themselves. If you smoke, are obese or choose to do drugs and drink too much, then you should pay a higher premium because you choose these life styles. The rest of us can lose everything if we don’t purchase health insurance, but the lazy people are happy to take what little paycheck I have left and force me against my will to also pay for their medical bills. Enough is enough, we will simply have to vote these losers out of our government that just won’t listen to the vast majority of America. When we have a president that wants to pay for all this from the working people’s over-taxed paychecks, you haven’t seen nothing yet. I don’t mind helping those in need, but most of these people I see coming for these “free” MRI’s, are perfectly healthy and come in for two or three MRI’s at a time and I work here but can’t afford to have one done. Not because health care is too high, but because I have to pay for all the lazy peoples MRI’s before I can get mine done. Yes we need healthcare reform, mostly, STOP using taxes for stuff that does not need to be done.Welfare patients records are thicker, not because they are sicker, but because they come into the ER for every little scratch simply because they can and the rest of us will pay for it.The rest of us are not really healthier, we just simply don’t come in if we don’t need to. The liberals will say ,”look the poor are sicker” based on thicker medical records but it is really because they come in for a headache due to a hangover or can’t breath because they smoke. I could go on and on and on and the vast majority of America, and ALL ER doctors know exactly what I’m talking about. NO-Obama, or else we will have more of the same.

Leave a Reply

