Why I Carry A Gun…


I don’t carry a gun to kill people… I carry a gun to keep from being killed.

I don’t carry a gun to scare people… I carry a gun because sometimes this world can be a scary place.

I don’t carry a gun because I’m paranoid… I carry a gun because there are real threats in the world.

I don’t carry a gun because I’m evil… I carry a gun because I have lived long enough to see evil in the world.

I don’t carry a gun because I hate the government… I carry a gun because I understand the limitations of government.

I don’t carry a gun because I’m angry… I carry a gun so that I won’t have to spend the rest of my life hating myself for not being prepared.

I don’t carry a gun because I want to shoot someone… I carry a gun because I want to die at a ripe old age in my bed, and not on a sidewalk somewhere tomorrow afternoon.

I don’t carry a gun because I’m a cowboy… I carry a gun because when I die and go to Heaven, I want to be a cowboy.

I don’t carry a gun to make me feel like a man… I carry a gun because men know how to take care of themselves and the ones they love.

I don’t carry a gun because I feel inadequate… I carry a gun because unarmed and facing three armed thugs, I am inadequate.

I don’t carry a gun because I love it… I carry a gun because I love life and the people who make it meaningful to me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Why I Carry A Gun…”

  1. Normanomiblog Says:

    No offense to Ben, but I think he’s missing the point of the whole commentary. I don’t live in a place where one would ‘normally’ feel the need to carry, but I do carry. I am proud of the fact that I carry and will state that loud and clear. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not blatant about it, I do not advertise as that would be just plain stupid.

    I carry for all of the reasons listed above and for the most important reason of all, my 3 year old son and my wife. I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if anything were to happen to either of them and I wasn’t able to do something about it because I wasn’t prepared.

    Again, Ben, I mean no offense, you are entitled to your own feelings and opinions, but I’ve been around long enough and seen enough things in my short time on this earth that even in a place where you don’t ‘feel the need’ to carry a gun, it’s probably one of the places where you do need one.

  2. Ben Hoffman Says:

    Glad I don’t live in a place where I feel the need to carry a gun.

    • lockdoc1 Says:

      I don’t actually carry a gun. It is a commentary on reasons that one might carry one. It is a right guaranteed us by the 2nd Amendment. Thanks for reading and commenting. It’s nice to know that there’s someone out there with an opinion.

Leave a Reply

